Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Beth's present to me

Happy Birthday Drama Llama

Check it out. Llamas Llamas everywhere. I love it!

My Birthday So Far....

It has been awesome. Sam wished me a happy birthday at midnight. Then proceeded to decorate the room with streamers and a "Happy Birthday" banner type thing. Then I took a shower while he went to the waiting room to wrap my presents. Unfortunately he said I couldn't open them yet, as it was not officially my birthday until 5:01am. Well we played a new Munchkin game. It was western themed and so much fun. Then, I took a little nap and he made a surprise for me. After breakfast I was able to open my presents. The first was a card he made me, I love it. Its so sweet and heartfelt. Then I opened my "joke present" bag. Inside was another card, telling of the were-penguin who hunts only on my birthday, but is ferocious and feared. Then I got my new T-shirt. It has on it, Big Bid, Grover, Oscar, Bert and Ernie and it says "I was raised on the street." Its so cute. I have it on now. Then I got to open my other new Munchkin game, it was the one I really wanted that is like supernaturally themed, vampires, werewolves and the like. Then I got a new movie "Happy Feet" I am so excited about this one, as soon as I can stay awake long enough to watch it I plan to do so. Then I got my last present, the game Cranium, which I have been wanting for like 2 years now. I love my gifts, my husband knows me so well.

Well after that we played Munchkin Bites, then Cranium, then we went on a walk to the gift shop, which is small and doesn't really have a lot of neat stuff. Then we came back up here and just talked for a bit, had some lunch. Now I am trying to stay awake, because I know sure as I lay down someone will be in. Thats just the way of it. Sam is snoring. I had to convince him to rest, he was dead on his feet, but kept insisting that it would ruin my birthday if he napped. Silly Sammy. I told him I won't let him sleep my entire birthday away. Meme and Mom have both called. Not sure if either of them are coming. Well Mom isn't she is sick and coming here isn't a good idea. Meme might.

They had hinted that maybe today I could go home, but my sugar shot up for no reason after my snack, so looks like I will probably be here at least another day. Which bites the big one. I want to go home. Oh well...another birthday update later, or maybe tomorrow, depends on when I crash and what else goes on today.

Year of The Potato

Finally...some recognition for the tater!

Makes sense, the Baby makes me crave potatoes more than normal, and I eat them a lot. He's a year of the potato baby!

Here's the site http://www.potato2008.org/en/index.html

Check it out!
Thanks United Nations!

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

"All know that only bards and pregnant women need never explain their actions."-Belial; The Wayfarer Redemption-By Sara Douglass

So, looks like I am going to be here tomorrow. My birthday. In the hospital. This depresses me somewhat. I know that some people are doing what they can to make it a good birthday, and believe me I do appreciate it. I just wish I was at home. Sam had already bought my favorite kind of cake, fun-fetti. And part of me wants to ask the dietitian if Sam can bring me in something for dinner tomorrow, if we ok it with her first of course. Just so I can have something other than hospital food. Maybe like MCL or something. Its just less than 5 minutes from here. She said she was going to try to find a way to work some kind of cake into my meal plan tomorrow. But all the good cake is 2 carbs or more. At just half a piece, which is hella LAME. But not her fault. You know, sticking to this diet at home will be hard. I'll do it, but it will be hard.

Now my sugars are running lower. With a few low lows during the day, so they are adding snacks. They would like my sugars to be under 110 all the time. This makes me feel ookie. Especially since I am used to "Keep it under 150." I feel almost constantly shaky. And really drained, because lows just wipe me out. I had to unplug my phone today and yesterday to try and let Sammy and I get some rest (so if you called and there was no answer, sorry) but, today it didn't really work for me. I had everyone and their brother coming in to talk to me, and 2 lows. So those things had to be dealt with and nap time would have to come later. I don't think I will stay up so late tonight. I don't really want to sleep away my birthday tomorrow, I'd rather be awake and TRY to enjoy it.

I guess my Dad is supposed to come visit tomorrow. That will be nice. I'm not sure if/when Mom and Meme will make it. I may just see them when I get home. Which is fine.

I've been reading a lot lately. Almost all the way through the book I brought with me, granted if I was awake more, I probably would be finished. I think Sam is going to try and find me the 2nd one (as its part of a series) even though I have it at home so that I can continue reading. I do that quite a bit while I am on the monitor if Sam isn't here or is asleep. Speaking of which, I should have been hooked up a half an hour ago, maybe I should call Bob. Bob is my nurse. He puts happy faces in the o of his name. He's a doof, but he seems like a nice guy. Which is good, cause I have had some BITCHY nurses. Why are they like that?? Anyway, Fear Not Faithful Readers, Bob has been called an he is on his way. 45 minutes late, but whatever. I'm used to things running slow. Which I hate. But anyway. Well faithful readers, Bob hath spoken, and his word is that people have been "acting up" so thats why he was late. We shall believe him, this time.

Hopefully Samwise will be back soon. He went out birthday present hunting. (shhh we are hunting birthday presents....) Can you tell I am in rare form tonight? Not necessarily a good mood, but less depressed I suppose. Not sure how long it will last either, hopefully until Sam returns. I think it would do him good to see me in a good mood. He likes it very much when I am. I am so thankful he's been here with me this whole time. He makes it easier to handle. I love him so very much. I think I will take a shower in about an hour when I come off the machine. I like to take a shower cause the gel stuff is gross. I think I said that before. Well if you have had it on you, then you understand I am sure.

The Baby is awake, I think he knows he's on the monitor again. I think he might also be saying "Hello out there, this is the Baby! I can't type yet, but I am here just the same!" So thats the Baby's greeting for you all today. He's such an active little booger. I love him. Sam came over and held him for a while last night. Its hard to do here since the bed is so small, but we both mushed in. The Baby likes it when Sam does that. He snuggles in all close to his hands, and then when Sam moves them, Little One starts wigging out. Its so cute, its like he says "No Daddy, don't go, you keep me warm and safe in your hands!" Thats what I imagine him thinking anyway.

Well I suppose that is all for now. I have blogged for about an hour, probably won't look like much but my mind wanders. Thank you all for your support.

~~The Mommy and the Baby~~


Monday, February 11, 2008

So tired

Sorry I didn't update yesterday. I slept so much. I was so tired. Sam was too. I slept alot today as well. I could probably go back to sleep now and be just fine, except I am due to be monitored soon so I figure I will stay up through that, maybe take a shower and go back night night. I hate feeling so tired.

The Doc said today that I should be able to go home mid-week if things continue as they are now. My sugars aren't running so high, but they are running a little on the low side. So MAYBE things are evening out. Maybe. They are still tweaking my insulin and diet some. Not too much any more. Just little changes here and there.

So last night I watched the Grammy's. Morris Day and the Mutha F*ckin' Time sang "Jungle Love." and it was AWESOME. The whole Beatles thing was neat. Plus Ringo was there and you know he's always been the coolest Beatle. Even though George Harrison did put out that fun song in the 80's "Got my Mind set on you." Yay.

Also, an amazing woman, and my favorite artist got the lifetime achievement award last night. The extraordinary Doris Day. I have loved that woman's voice my whole life. I think its amazing that she was finally properly recognized. And thankfully before she passed away. Thats a plus. She's like 83 now. She was born in the same year as my Nana.

Today is Spiker's birthday. He is 2. I miss him. Where he is, well that was a horrible mistake I made. I hope he had a good birthday anyway, if any one bothered to remember. Today would have also been my baby brother Loren's 19th birthday. I imagine he would have been a cool kid you know?

The Baby is doing great. Getting bigger. Moving around a lot. They weighed me today. I have gained like 3 pounds in a week. So he's definately growing. Plus I can feel him getting heavier. And my tummy seems noticeably bigger as of late. Even Sammy has noticed it. This pleases me, as well as makes me physically uncomfortable. Its hard for me to bear his weight sometimes, especially when I am very tired. But I am pleased he is developing so well. He gets the hiccups like 3-5 times a day at least. Its cute. Which I guess means his lungs are developing. So yay for that. He's been living quite low lately. Lots of pressure. But my cervix is still closed and all that. But I told Sam I think he's readying for his descent. 30 weeks 1 day today. One more day closer.

My birthday is in 2 days. I hope I'm not still here, but I might be. Poo Poo on that.
Well I am about done with today's update. Maybe more later if I can't sleep and my brain starts to work more. Haha. Not likely today.

Saturday, February 9, 2008

If Little Man Can Do It.....So Can Mommy.

Better late than never right? Right.

So, the doctor came in and Sam and I grilled him for some answers. Well we did our best. Answers were slightly elusive, and he just kept saying we had to control my diet. Well, my diet IS controlled. Its the insulin that needs the fixin'. All my meals are planned out by a dietitian, and I eat almost the same thing every day. He also said the Baby may have to stay in longer than expected and that they probably won't even check to see if his lungs are mature until maybe 38 weeks. 38 weeks. I swear to Goodness, I can't wait that long. So I told the baby if he feels the need to come out a little earlier than that, FINE. Babies born as early as 34 weeks are pretty much just fine. And I don't want to have to try and deliver a 12 pound baby. That would kill me. My body is NOT strong enough for that. He is just over 3 pounds right about now, and I can barely stand the weight of him now. What can I say I am a weakling. Plus I long to have him here SO bad. I can hold out a little while longer, but I think more than 8 weeks is a stretch, especially with as bad as my sugars are now. Inside my body is not a great place for him. I told the doctor that I am concerned that since being admitted my sugar has run almost consistently high. This could kill our son. Which the doc acknowledges, but then goes back to the diet issue, like nothing is wrong with the insulin. I was on lantus before and it made my sugars just as nuts. Thats what they switched me to NPH to begin with. So much crap.

Thankfully I have a great support effort out there. Internet and phone support from my friends and family is awesome. Joe and his Jamie came to see us today. And of course Sam. He is the most amazing person. I would not be able to handle all this were it not for him. And the baby, I figure if Little Man can keep on fighting, and has made it this far despite the odds, then we are not screwing up as bad as they make us feel we are. He's an amazing little guy, and I love him so much.

I miss my Bubba terribly. I got to talk to him on the phone tonight, he purred at me.

Well thats all for now. Any questions? Just ask. Its cool.


Early Morning Ponderings.

So, yesterday after dinner my sugar went up to 363 for no good reason. Which doesn't really help my going home case. We have planned out my meals, they are all approved, so I know I am not eating wrong. Last night after sitting around all day Sam asked if I could get up and walk around. The walk only lasted about 5 minutes, because I got tired so quickly. But, we stepped outside and I got some fresh air. It was just nice to be out of this room. Even for 5 minutes.

I am up now because they decided I should have a 2 am snack. So, that means even later to bed since they put me on the baby monitoring thing from 10-11 ish. So there really is no point in trying to go to bed then. I will lay down soon. They hook me back up from 6-7 am. Yay rah.

Well just thought I would write all this down while it was fresh in my head, gonna go lay down so hopefully Little One will move out of my ribs. Nighty night. More later I'm sure.

The Mommy